.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}


Friday, August 25, 2006

Solar System

Apparently Pluto is now the bastard child of the Solar System. Scientists have reclassified the Solar System so it now includes only 8 planets. Since Pluto is so ghetto and is surrounded by other hunks of lifeless bullshit, it was relegated to 'dwarf planet' status. Pluto joins the ranks of fellow not-good-enough-to-be-planets planets Ceres and UB 313 (aka, Xena). That's weak.

So now what will children learn in elementary school? The whole mnemonic device for remembering the order of the planets will be all fucked up!! Instead of "My Very Excited Mother Just Served Us Nine Pizzas" (ie, Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto), it's going to be "My Very Exasperated Mother Just Served Us NOTHING!".

Don't scientists ever think about the repercussions of their actions and how they will affect elementary school kids? Won't someone PLEASE think of the children????


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home